a new lease of life for the 45 single

Just before Christmas I got a phone call from a friend asking if I wanted to come over for a glass of wine, and to see something that I may find interesting. Bottle of wine under my arm. off I went.

What followed was one of the most enjoyable evenings I have had is a long time. The object of interest was a very nifty turntable designed to play 45 singles, and nothing else.

s45.blog
Now, I haven´t given this vinyl format any thought since the early 70´s, and I was quite surprised to find that there are folks out there who collect, and listen, to nothing else.

I came away from the evening with a new appreciation for this format. It was surprising how good singles can sound on a decent system, and there is something to be said for the nostalgia they evoke. This was a far cry from my childhood memories of scratchy discs played on an ageing record changer, but the magic was still there.

I have since spent a couple more evenings listening to this nice little record player, and have really fallen in love with it. Certainly not an item for the masses, but there are folks out there seriously dedicated to the 45 single. I have now started hunting through the long ignored boxes of singles in my local record shops. Here in Spain there were a lot of classical pieces released on 45 singles, and the other day I found two wonderful Segovia guitar recordings from the late 50´s.

A more detailed description of the S45 record player can be found here.

http://blog.recordplayer.com/

For anyone with a large collection of 45 RPM singles, this is the ideal recordplayer for the collection.

This entry was posted in home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment